It’s National Walk in the Park Day!

Today was National Walk in the Park Day and what a beautiful day to take a lunch break strolling by the water. The Health & Wellness Manager at my job organized a short walk outside in order to celebrate.

IMG_0715IMG_0716

We congregated by the entrance, and set out on our way. I love being outside. I love the warm weather, the breeze, the people walking and talking excitedly. There is so much going on outside. There is so much you can discover. I work on Wall Street, no not in finance, and so it was perfect to take a stroll down to Bowling Green, then to Battery Park, and end back on Wall Street.

IMG_0728IMG_0730IMG_0731

On the way we saw hip hop dancers, people waiting in line to go to the Statue of Liberty, memorials for WWII, and a statue commemorating all the immigrants who came to the US through Ellis Island.

IMG_0735IMG_0758

It’s refreshing to go outside and feel free, especially since my desk job pretty much leaves me glued to the computer for 9 hours a day. After I came back from the walk I felt a serious tinge in my left shin. It was a really bad pain, so I’m going to have to change up my training, maybe I’m going a little too hard a little to0 quick.

IMG_0759

Instead of running 4-5 times a week, I think I will keep it at 3 for right now and go for 2-3 miles each time, just so my body starts getting used to the movement of running. I think I’m also going to start adding HIIT workouts in between and before a run to strengthen my leg muscles and gluts.

What do you do to avoid an injury? How did you spend National Walk in the Park Day?

Miles Left: 4,002

About batelm2014

Trying to find happiness wherever life takes me and having fun along the way.
This entry was posted in fitness, lifestyle, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s National Walk in the Park Day!

  1. Jealous! I would love to spend my day walking through Liberty State Park or walking along the water front. Best injury prevention for me is a dynamic warmup before running, and light body weight activity before the gym!

    Like

  2. Argh, i didn’t know about national walk in the park day – your park is way cooler than mine though! 🙂 i always have to remind myself to go slow. Slow down so you don’t injure yourself, slowing down is not the same as not running at all! Keep it up!

    Like

    • batelm2014 says:

      I agree! I just got the zombie running app so I’m kind of excited to try interval running on Sunday. Yea there is also national walk day on Wednesday, so I guess you could do that in a park too…

      Like

Leave a comment