Fig & Olive, Home Workouts, & The Park

It’s Sunday, and here in New York City the weather just keeps on getting warmer. After a long and exhausting week, the boyfriend and I decided that we needed a date-day, if that’s a thing I’m not quite sure.

It has been two days since I’d gone to the gym, the blisters and bruises still hurt, so I did an at home workout. It was no joke either, totally a tough one. My mom recommended that I try Workout Trainer by Skimple. I did a lot of planks, side-tap planks, squats, lungs, etc. I was sweating through the whole 16 min. Then I did another workout for 11 minutes.

IMG_2234IMG_2235IMG_2238

The boyfriend and I decided to go to Central Park for our day-date. Walking alongside the gorgeous trees, and seeing people of all ages sitting around laughing, napping, and playing games is just a hoot. I put on a lot of sun screen, cause I’m really pale, and because I’m always very conscious about the health of my skin.

After the park, we walked to a French Riviera restaurant called Fig & Olive. I ordered the Monaco cocktail and it was so delicious. I couldn’t taste the alcohol in it, which is just the way I like my drinks, don’t judge. For an appetizer, my bf and I ordered the Truffle Mushroom Croquette, which is basically these fried balls filled with mushrooms and bΓ©chamel sauce. Then for the main meal, I ordered the Fig & Olive salad, piled high with greens, different cheeses, olives, and figs. My boyfriend ordered the Penne Funghi Tartufo. The pasta was lightly coated with some olive oil, sautΓ©ed truffled mushrooms, and hints of parmesan. My boyfriend didn’t love it, but from the bits and pieces I had, it tasted pretty great to me.

IMG_2243IMG_2244IMG_2240IMG_2242

The great thing about eating a salad for dinner is avoiding the heaviness that comes with a serious meal. Now we are winding down and getting ready to watch our shows before bed. Tomorrow I’m going to try and get in a run outside, so expect some pretty pictures πŸ™‚ Happy Memorial Day for those who celebrate.

About batelm2014

Trying to find happiness wherever life takes me and having fun along the way.
This entry was posted in fitness, food, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

