Desert Runners – Movie Review

 

Sahara

Photo taken from: Expedition Foods

A co-worker had opened my eyes to the concept of ultra-marathoning. Basically it’s people who are crazy enough to run an obscene amount of kilometers under super strenuous conditions. Although I don’t envision myself doing something of this sort I do find it psychologically intriguing.

I decided to see if Netflix had any documentaries on the subject, and what do you know, they did! That’s how I found myself watching Desert Runners.

First off let me just say how insane these people are, but insane in a good day. I mean they agreed to run 250 kilometers, 600 miles across 4 deserts. These included the hottest desert in the world, the Sahara, and the coldest desert in the world, Antartica.

samantha1

Photo taken from: Desert Running Movie

I loved everything about this movie, watching raw emotions pour through the runners. Seeing the first female and youngest female complete all four deserts. Most of all I enjoyed watching as the runners failed and achieved the goals they set out of themselves. It goes to show that failures do not define you, they make you motivated to achieve your goals. If at first you don’t succeed try and try again.

I highly recommend that all my running junkies out there get on Netflix and watch this incredibly enlightening movie.

About batelm2014

Trying to find happiness wherever life takes me and having fun along the way.
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

