My First 5K

On May 1 I completed my first 5K. It was a goal I was working toward all this month. I ran three days a week, and included two days of cross training and strength training. On the day of the race it was drizzling early in the morning.

IMG_1554

 

I set the alarm for 6: 15 am, got dressed quietly, and grabbed a bagel on the way out the door. I took two subways from Manhattan to Brooklyn and followed some people that looked like runners. The weather didn’t seem to change at all. It was cold, gloomy, and not what I expected for my first ever race.

IMG_1563

IMG_1570.JPG

I got my yellow t-shirt and pinned my number on for the very first time! I walked to the starting line and before I knew it the gun was shot and the race began. In the beginning I felt great, but then my mind started to go crazy, I felt every muscle tense, my lungs were heavy, and I just kept thinking where is the end! I didn’t give up, not when my mind told me stop what I was doing. I kept on going, one mile passed, then two, then three, and 34 minutes later I had crossed the finish line.

IMG_1564

I love running outside, the smells, the texture of the pavement, the people. I was running 10 minute miles, my fastest, and it felt so freeing. After the race I grabbed a free bagel and a glass of water and headed to start the hour journey home.

IMG_1573.JPG

When I came home my little kitten curled up next to me and we took a three hour nap together. What an amazing first day of May. Today I took the day off for a friend’s birthday, so now I’m updating the blog, getting a mani/pedi, gym time, running shoe fitting, and so much more.

Miles Left: 3,947.99

About batelm2014

Trying to find happiness wherever life takes me and having fun along the way.
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My First 5K

  1. lexilife says:

    Great post! Congratulations on your first 5K!! I did a muddy obstacle course one and it actually went a lot faster than I thought. I had to comment as son as I saw your kitten – SO CUTE! His/Her prints are a gorgeous colour, almost sandy. Ugh god the crazy cat lady in me is coming out. Great post xx

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Congrats!! Thats so awesome you ran your fastest mile, way to go! And I am jealous of your day today lol have fun!!

    Like

  3. fromdreamtoplan says:

    Congrats!! šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. lyvingbetter says:

    Congratulations! Great job!!

    Like

  5. The gym bug says:

    Congratulations on your first 5k! Amazing time aswell!

    Like

  6. popiuliaanca says:

    Congrats ā¤

    Like

Leave a Reply

