fitness · lifestyle · running · Uncategorized

Quitters Will Never Be Winners

Yesterday marked my 14th workout since March 31st. I didn’t want to go to the gym, to be honest I was ready to order some food, put on my pjs, and be lazy for a few more hours before bed. I have had the busiest couple of days so I missed showcasing my 3.21 run, 4.64 run, 3.21 run, and today’s 5 mile run.

After a crazy week of cooking for Passover, commuting to New Jersey from Manhattan, and getting ready for my boyfriend to come home after being away for two months I put my workouts on the back burner. I missed two workouts (Thursday and Friday) and then came Saturday.

IMG_1227.JPG

I decided to stop with the excuses and just go to the gym. I told myself I’ll do a quick workout, a short 3 mile run and be done with it. I felt my insides kicking and screaming not wanting to go. When I got to the gym and turned on the treadmill I didn’t feel that much better. My body felt so heavy after the endless feast I had on Friday. It was hard just to get myself to start running, everything hurt, my body jiggled like crazy.

IMG_1225IMG_1226

I decided that doing a HIIT style workout would work better for me than a straight run. I did 3 minutes of running on 5.3 speed and 1 minute walking on 3.8 speed until I reached 3 miles. Afterwards I decided to keep going and finish the full hour workout. I did a 4 minute walk, then switched between 2 minute walks on 3.7 speed and 1 minute sprints on 5.8-6.5 speeds.

IMG_1241IMG_1244

I reached 5 miles at the end of the workout. It was such accomplishment from not wanting to do anything to finishing 5 miles. Quitters will never be winners. When you give up, you give up on yourself, you make room for excuses and they just keep coming. After my workout yesterday I feel more refreshed. I am excited to get my new workout gear from Jockey this week and really hit it hard at the gym. The weather has finally started to act like spring and the flowers are blooming everywhere.

It’s a great time to be alive and now I’m off to a hang out with the girls and some fun in the sun!

Miles Left: 3,965.35

2 thoughts on “Quitters Will Never Be Winners

  1. This post definitely gives me motivation (which I actually need when it comes to working out)! Thank you for sharing and congrats for your determination! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

